top of page

5389: Planning the Alternative PL

My favorite form of learning is by doing. In my classrooms, I sought out hands-on approaches to teach my students and would strive for the student to then become the teacher to another. This is my thinking when partnering with teachers to accomplish my Big Hairy Audacious Goal: By the end of the school year, all PK-2nd Grade Educators (the “Learners”) will confidently know how to use the Waterford Reading Academy software & resources, in a blended learning model, to reinforce literacy skills and make data-driven decisions for each student in their classroom.

For this plan, I choose to focus on a year of PK-specific Professional Learning for educators using the Waterford Reading Academy program in their classroom. This blended learning design is presented using the Five Principles of Effective PD (Gulamhussein et al., 2013), and is intended to support PK teachers with ongoing, collaborative support for a full school year.

I will be the Professional Learning Lead (PLL) for this alternative PL plan, while also guiding a team who will teach these lessons to additional professional educator groups. All will be proficient in the Waterford Reading Academy software program and how to use the data pieces to address gaps in knowledge as identified by specific reports. This plan allows for support and collaboration with educators, administrators, and families.





References:

Gulamhussein, A., Center for Public Education, & National School Boards Association. (2013). Teaching the teachers. In Center for Public Education.

Recent Posts

See All

Action Research Plan

My action research plan is two-fold and very near and dear to my heart and daily work. I explore the impact of personalized professional...

Comentarios


bottom of page