top of page

5315: Revealing my Action Research Topic


As I consider the 4 stages and 9 steps of Action Research, I think of this project and many others over the years. Getting started is usually my hardest step, so I believe Stage 1- Planning is the most difficult to carry out. In this case, Identifying the topic was my first challenge with gathering and reviewing literature a close second. Finally, developing the research plan, for me, is more difficult than carrying out the plan and reflecting on it.

The cyclical piece of the process will have to be carried out in the next year. What I've planned and acted on, so far, has helped me to develop my action plan and reflect upon it.

Other classes have helped me prep for this course in the following ways:

5302-Allowed me to poll my colleagues and develop an initial plan to build capacity within our team while giving teammates the opportunity to share and shine, as we became a more coachable & and approachable PL team

I also developed my Learning Manifesto in this course, which has helped me further develop my ePortfolio in 5303.

By far, though, the original Literature Review for 5305, has been the most helpful in gathering data and helping me see the larger scope of what I am working to accomplish at my organization.

We teach students to review and revise their work. Teachers and other adults in their lives give feedback, or feedforward. We do this to improve their practices and increase knowledge. The same holds true for educators and professionals looking to improve their craft. My team emphasizes the need to inspect what we expect and collaborate with school partners to do this. We are all coming into settings and situations with different lenses and only through reflection and revision are we able to improve, or at least try new approaches.

Action Research pairs beautifully with our CSLE+COVA approach to learning and teaching. Action Research allows for a variety of evaluation tactics and a mix of qualitative and quantitative analysis. This helps us to measure the impact of our actions, programs, or products in an organized, yet flexible, manner. Our daily work is constantly changing and it's important that we are able to quickly pivot and change our approach to learning and teaching, as much as our approach to evaluating and reacting.

What I'd like to measure is the impact my model of internal training has on my team's support of external partners. By allowing my team to teach each other and learn from each other's strengths, are we building a more knowledgeable, confident, and well-rounded professional learning team?

As I revisit my 4DX plan, I see areas where building my team's capacity must come before supporting our teachers. My WIG was that our Professional Learning team would lead 80% of our partner teachers to reach usage goals. While this is still my goal, I must first ensure my colleagues are equipped with the tools and knowledge to pass on to our partners. I'm currently working to find areas of my initial literature review that deal with internal training and looking for additional resources to build on.

In doing this, I hope to answer the question:

What is the impact of personalizing professional learning for the members of the Waterford.org Professional Learning team of consultants?

The data I'll need to collect will focus on internal training practices for corporations and schools and any items that will help me to influence my organization that greater professional development is needed for our team that is ongoing, personalized, and meaningful to the individual.


References

Mertler, C. (n.d.). Action research: Improving schools and empowering educators. Video Resources | Online Resources. https://edge.sagepub.com/mertler6e1/student-resources/chapter-1/video-resources

Mertler, C. (n.d.-a). Action research: Improving schools and empowering educators. Video Resources | Online Resources. https://edge.sagepub.com/mertler6e1/student-resources/chapter-2/video-resources

Recent Posts

See All

Action Research Plan

My action research plan is two-fold and very near and dear to my heart and daily work. I explore the impact of personalized professional...

תגובות


bottom of page